Blog Tour- Tracing Shadows

TRACING SHADOWS

tracing shadows cover

Thank you to Rockstar Book Tours for making me the last stop on this fabulous tour!!

Pub. Date: April 8, 2018

Publisher: Alex Lidell

Formats: Paperback, eBook

Pages: 312 Find it: Amazon, Goodreads

Synopsis:

To protect the throne, seventeen-year-old spy Kali must play a male guardsman trainee by day and royal lady by night.

Orphaned and trained on a spymaster’s remote estate, Kali is a scout who works alone in the shadows. But when a terror group threatens the Dansil throne, the king forces Kali to accept a mission at the palace or forfeit her sister’s life.

Suddenly thrust into the light, Kali must infiltrate high society as the royal Lady Lianna while penetrating the servant ranks as Kal, a male guardsman trainee. It doesn’t help that Trace, the harsh and enigmatic captain of the king’s guard, is soon assigned as both Lady Lianna’s palace escort and Kal’s commanding officer.

As Kali edges closer to the truth behind the violent group’s identity, she uncovers dangerous secrets that could bring her mission to a brutal end. A scout’s job is to observe and report, never to engage . . . but if it means saving her sister and kingdom, Kali may have no choice.

TRACING SHADOWS, by Amazon bestselling author Alex Lidell, is the first novel in the Scout series. Perfect for fans of Tamora Pierce, Leigh Bardugo, and Sarah J. Maas

Excerpt:

I should leave. Now.

Instead, I pick up a jagged stone and press myself against the wall. My heart pounds in my ears, sweat forming on my temples despite the chill wind. If Lord Gapral finds out . . . Swallowing, I lean around the corner and skip the stone along the side of the barn closest to Mustache’s men.

The men startle. Move toward the sound. I sprint in the opposite direction, banging my fist against the barn wall. “Loose horse! Wake up in there! Loose horse!”

Curses and agitated neighs sound from inside. A moment later, the barn’s back wall vibrates from the impact of kicking hooves. Good enough. Changing direction midstride, I sprint for the tree line.

“There he is,” a voice calls behind me.

My legs burn as I press into a faster run. The thud of pursuing boots echoes through my bones, but I’m smaller than the men. Faster. My breaths come in short, rapid bursts. Two dozen yards will see me into the blind blackness of the forest. They have to. One dozen.

A hand slams the back of my tunic, shoving me to the ground.

I twist as I fall, landing on my back. The impact takes my breath, but my legs are up and ready to kick. Burying my boots in my attacker’s hips, I lift the man into the air. The momentum of his weight rolls us, and with the next heartbeat I’m the one on top, straddling the man’s chest. I slam my fist down on his jaw and scramble away.

Another man grabs me from behind, his arms wrapping around my torso.

I stomp my heel onto his foot and twist free.

Something slams into my ribs. A fist or a boot. Maybe an elbow.

I move through the shock, loosening the throwing blades strapped to my forearms. Someone grabs my arms and wrenches them behind my back. My shoulders scream. I do too. Until a blow to the gut cuts my air.

“What are you doing here, boy?” Mustache demands.

“Nothing, sir,” I gasp, my voice catching. “A jest. I’m sorry. I’ll . . . I’ll settle the horses back for you. It was a stupid jest to wake up the hostlers. Lazy, drunken buggers. Just a bit of amusement.” The pressure on my shoulders tightens and I scream again. The Viva Sylthia aren’t buying my lie.

My Thoughts:

4 out of 5 Stars

So, I will be honest. I actually requested this book based solely on the fact that the main character’s name was Kali, which used to be a nickname of mine. Lol! I’M SO GLAD THAT I DID! This book was very enjoyable. I loved Kali, she was strong and independent. I loved Trace, who is reliable and hiding a personal depth, and I love Luca, who is just plain loveable! I’m really looking forward to more from these character! If you enjoy well written fantasy with a little splash of war and romance, this book is a must have! It’s an easy read with vibrant characterization and the beginnings of a great world!

tracing shadows alex lidell

Alex Lidell is the Amazon Breakout Novel Awards finalist author of THE CADET OF TILDOR (Penguin, 2013). She is an avid horseback rider, a (bad) hockey player, and an ice-cream addict. Born in Russia, Alex learned English in elementary school, where a thoughtful librarian placed a copy of Tamora Pierce’s ALANNA in Alex’s hands. In addition to becoming the first English book Alex read for fun, ALANNA started Alex’s life

long love for YA fantasy books. Alex is represented by Leigh Feldman of Leigh Feldman Literary. She lives in Washington, DC. Join Alex’s newsletter for news, bonus content and sneak peeks: www.subscribepage.com/TIDES

Website | Twitter | Facebook | Goodreads | Instagram

Giveaway Details:

3 winners will receive an eBook set of Alex’s TIDES SERIES & an eBook of TRACING SHADOWS, INTERNATIONAL

http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/e2389ba2724/?

Tour Schedule:

I’m the last stop on this tour, but if you’d like to look back at what others have thought about this book than feel free!!!

Week One:

4/9/2018- A Backwards Story– Review

4/9/2018- Confessions of a YA Reader– Excerpt

4/10/2018- Zach’s YA Reviews– Review

4/10/2018- Reese’s Reviews– Review

4/11/2018- Book-Keeping– Review

4/11/2018- History from a Woman’s Perspective– Review

4/12/2018- Myth and Magic Book Club– Review

4/12/2018- BookHounds YA– Excerpt

4/13/2018- Smada’s Book Smack– Review

4/13/2018- Paulette’s Papers– Excerpt

Week Two:

4/16/2018- Read. Eat. Love.– Review

4/16/2018- Zooloo Book Blog– Excerpt

4/17/2018- Lauren is Reading– Review

4/17/2018- Book Briefs– Review

4/18/2018- The Underground– Excerpt

4/18/2018- Don’t Judge, Read– Review

4/19/2018- Adventures Thru Wonderland– Review

4/19/2018- A Dream Within A Dream– Excerpt

4/20/2018- The BookWorm Drinketh- Review

4/20/2018- TwoChicks on Books– Excerpt

Tracing Shadows is Best Served with A

Cold in the Shadows

 

 

20180420_103856.jpg

Ingredients

  • 1 ounce Campari
  • 1 ounce lime juice
  • 1/2 ounce
  • honey syrup (1:1 ratio of honey to water)
  • 1/2 ounce St. George Raspberry Liqueur
  • 1 1/2 ounces IPA
  • Garnish: orange and lime slices

Directions

  1. Combine all ingredients except for the IPA in a cocktail shaker.
  2. Whip shake (shake just a few times) and add the beer to the tin.
  3. Fill a highball glass with crushed ice.
  4. Strain the drink into the glass.
  5. Garnish with a lime slice.
  6. CHEERS!!

13 thoughts on “Blog Tour- Tracing Shadows

  1. Hahahaha isn’t it funny the things that draw us to books? A character’s name, a particular setting, something on the cover (even though we shouldn’t judge, we all do)… glad this one worked out for you! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m so glad you stopped by, because now I have a fun read for my list and a cocktail I want to try! I’ve never heard of St. Georges or ever had a raspberry spirit, and I see they make a spiced pear, too! Have a great weekend,

    Mollie

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It was meant to be, apparently! I’m going to pick all my books for stupid reasons from now on. It seems to work for me!! That IS how I discovered the author Banana Yoshimoto… I mean, who can pass up someone named BANANA?! AND IT WAS GREAT!!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s