OtherEarth by Jason Segel and Kirsten Miller

otherearth

Thank you to Rockstar Book Tours for having me on the tour today!

If you missed my review for Book One “OtherWorld” check it out HERE!

4.5 out of 5 Stars

Synopsis

Return to the series BuzzFeed compared to Ready Player One in the second book in a new fast-paced trilogy from New York Times bestselling authors Jason Segel and Kirsten Miller that’s perfect for fans of HBO’s Westworld.

Simon would have done anything to save his best friend after a mysterious accident almost killed her–including follow her into a virtual world. And what he and Kat discovered there was more terrifying than they could have ever imagined. Unwitting hospital patients are being forced to test a device that lets VR be experienced with all five senses. The technology is so advanced that it’s deadly.

Now the world’s biggest tech corporation is hunting Simon and Kat while war rages in Otherworld, the virtual world it created. Determined to destroy the Company, Simon and Kat must join forces with a hacker, a gangster, and a digital entity. But as they battle to save two worlds, they uncover an all-new threat to our world: the Company’s latest creation, an augmented-reality game called OtherEarth. Not only does OtherEarth kill, it has the power to erase the line between what’s real and what’s fantasy.

My Thoughts

“The future is bleak as hell. People get so excited that we have all this new technology. They never sit back and consider how dangerous it might be. We’re just a bunch of monkeys playing with a box of matches.”

What can I say?? Up for having your mind screwed with some more? I SURE WAS!! I couldn’t wait to dive back into the VR world once more!

I was honestly a little worried about this instalment of the “Last Reality” series as I feltr that with a little tweaking they could probably have just had the first book as a stand alone and left it at that…. sometimes trilogies just try to hard and de-rail ruining the whole series *cough*Hunger Games*cough* THIS HASN’T BEEN ONE OF THEM!!

There were some interesting characters in the last novel that are brought into the foreground more AND I LOVE THEM! I thought the contrast in personalities between Elvis and Busara was a needed addition! Both very smart and sure of themselves in very different ways, I loved the wit and hilarity clashing with the robot-like objectiveness.

Simon is having a harder and harder time figuring out what is real after all of his time in “OtherWorld”…or is it that the lines are just more blurred than we think? This, again, had me questioning the differences.

This one takes place a lot more in the “real world” and trying to deal with the aftermath of everything caused by their previous forage into “OtherWorld” as The Company tries to pick up the pieces and re-assert their dominance. Can our group stop The Comapny from releasing their new software? Can the give “Otherworld” back to the Children and stop the slaughter?? ONLY ONE WAY TO FIND OUT!!

Giveaway!!

3 winners will receive a finished copy of OTHEREARTH, US Only.

Enter HERE!

Or pick up your copy here!

Amazon  / Audible / Barnes & Noble / iBooks

 

Author Bios

Jason Segel

About Jason:

New York Times bestselling author Jason Segel used to have nightmares just like Charlie, and just like Charlie, he’s learned that the things we’re most afraid of are the things that can make us strong…if we’re brave enough to face them. Jason likes acting, writing, making music, and hanging out with his friends. Sometimes he writes movies. Sometimes he writes songs for movies. Sometimes he stars in those movies and sings those songs. You might know him from The Muppets and Despicable Me. Your parents might know him from other stuff. Nightmares! is his first novel.

Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads

 

Kirsten Miller

About Kirsten:

I write books.

Some of my books are what librarians call middle grade. (Kiki Strike, Nightmares!)

Some should be kept away from small children and people with weak stomachs. (How to Lead a Life of Crime, The Eternal Ones, Otherworld)

I write some books with Jason Segel.

I’ve written quite a few books on my own.

I’m an Aquarius.

My favorite food is cauliflower. (No joke.)

I will eat almost anything. And I’m weirdly proud of it.

I believe New York City is the most magical place on earth.

I love Dolly Parton and David Attenborough. Equally.

I cannot sing or play any musical instruments.

I’m obsessed with sewers and sanitation systems.

I once broke into a Mayan temple with my brother, Spike.

Spike is an alias. It’s not his real name.

I also have a sister. She prefers to remain anonymous.

We have the same birthday.

Yes, that sucks.

I think that’s all you need to know.

Website | Twitter | Goodreads

OtherWorld and OtherEarth are Best Served with an Absolute Reality Cocktail

If you missed my review for the first instalment of the “Last Reality” series, check it out here!

20181128_081958.jpg

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 part Vodka
  • 5 parts Apple Juice
  • 3/4 parts Blue Curacao

Directions

  1. Fill a cocktail glass with ice
  2. Add ingredients as listed
  3. Stir before drinking
  4. CHEERS!

31 thoughts on “OtherEarth by Jason Segel and Kirsten Miller

Add yours

    1. My review for the first book is up as well! I read them back to back, and I’m glad I did because it’s also good to gft a sense of how much recap is in the second book! I love books that catch you up a bit, but they don’t go through the whole first book ad nauseam. This book was good with its recap! I didn’t get to the point where I was thinking “Ya. I know. I read it!!”

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: