Don’t Stop me Now by Colleen Coleman #womensliterature #bookreview

don't stop me now

4 out of 5 Stars

Synopsis

A hilarious feel good read about finding your feet when life pulls the rug out from under you.

Poppy Bloom has a Life Plan: PhD in psychology, research job at her university, and a life of domestic bliss with handsome boyfriend Gregory.

But then she finishes her PhD with no job offer, no relationship, and nowhere to live. Being unemployed and living back at her mum’s house in her vampire-themed childhood bedroom was definitely not the plan.

Poppy is back to square one and miserable, so when she runs into childhood friend Leanne she jumps at the opportunity to catch up. The chance to run into Leanne’s gorgeous brother Tom is just a bonus…

Soon Poppy’s scored an internship at a radio station, a boyfriend, and a whole netball team of friends: things are on the up.

But life has a way of tripping you up when you least expect it, and Poppy soon has to decide where her priorities lie… With new friends, a new career and a new romance, can Poppy keep everyone happy, or is everything about to tumble down around her?

A laugh-out-loud story about friendship, second chances, and new love, perfect for fans of Lindsey Kelk, Marian Keyes and Jane Costello.

 

My Thoughts

Although, maybe not what I expected, this was a great book about second chances. We’ve all had our downs and downs…. oh. I’m sorry. Did you expect me to say UPS and downs?? Well, sometimes that’s not how life goes. I’m sure Poppy Bloom would agree. Sometimes life gives you lemons, and when you go to make that lemonade, you find that all the lemons are rotten. But, do you lay down, sob and give up?? Poppy taught me that NO, we don’t!

“you can’t wait for opportunities. You’ve got to create your chances and make things happen.”

I think that calling this book a “romantic comedy” may have been a little off the mark. The romance was DEFINITELY a secondary feature in the book and barely present. But, I was okay with that! Maybe, just calling it “contemporary women’s literature” would have been closer? It’s cute, strong, empowering, and highly relatable. Sometimes life doesn’t go as expected. Sometimes it’s hard to deal with that and just let life have its way. But, why fight it?? Maybe, just maybe, life knows what it’s doing after all…. We can only hope.

If you want a sweet, fun read give this a go! We may not all wind up where we thought… But, we may wind up where we need to be.

PICK UP YOUR COPY, NOW!

Amazon U.S

Amazon Canada

Amazon U.K

 

Author Bio

colleen coleman

Colleen Coleman is an Irish- Canadian novelist. She is the winner of the much-coveted Novelicious Undiscovered People’s Choice Award which launched to find the next ‘chick-lit star’. She spent over ten years working as a teacher of English and Philosophy before finally taking a deep breath, scrunching her eyes shut, putting her pen to paper and vowing not to lift it again until she wrote the words The End. As a result, her first novel was born. Colleen lives between London, Ireland and Cyprus with her very patient husband and very chatty twin daughters. Don’t Stop Me Now is her first book and will be released in February.

About Don’t Stop Me Now….I sat beside a girl on an aeroplane, we started chatting and over five hours we emptied the Easyjet mini-bar of JD and coke, ate our baggage allowance in crisps and by the time we landed, tipsy and yet still ravenous, we knew each others’ life stories. She was super-bright, kind, funny, beautiful – but what really struck me was that she was a psychologist yet her own head was all over the place! She seemed to have a blindspot when it came to her own ‘issues’ and I found this apparent paradox fascinating.

As I hugged her goodbye at the arrivals lounge, I just knew I’d met someone very special and I had the first chapter of DSMN scribbled down by the time I went to bed that night.

Website / Twitter / Facebook / Instagram / Goodreads

Don’t Stop me Now is Best Served with a Shooting Star Cocktail

Ingredients

  • 2oz Gin
  • 1oz Peach Schnapps
  • 3oz Cranberry Juice
  • 1 tsp Grenadine Syrup
  • 1oz Cream
  • 1tsp coconut milk

Directions

  1. Shake the first 4 ingrdients in a shaker of ice
  2. Strain into glass
  3. Stir cream and coconut together in a separate vessel
  4. Float on top
  5. CHEERS!

 

One thought on “Don’t Stop me Now by Colleen Coleman #womensliterature #bookreview

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: